VAT

VAT

reminder // GENERAL UNDERLYING VAT PRINCIPLE

VAT is an indirect tax on consumption. It is intended only as a cost to the end consumer and to remain neutral throughout the production chain of goods or services. 

To ensure such neutrality, the VAT paid on the acquisition of a good or a service is deductible by the person who pays for it insofar as such person uses the good or service for an activity actually subject to VAT (i.e. use for generating turnover subject to VAT): see Article 271 of the FTC).

 Introduction

Owing to the way it works, VAT raises a particular problem: despite its apparent cost (20% of the rent), the lessor has an interest in seeing it applied (whereas for the tenant the VAT will either be neutral or constitute a cost). This issue (and the relationship between lessor and tenant) is even more critical for rentals of bare business premises, as the application of VAT is optional (see hyperlink  Acquisition / Disposal > Real estate asset > VAT  ). 

Thus, if a building generates turnover subject to VAT (in this case because it is rented, with VAT applicable to rents), the VAT borne by the owner on its acquisition, works and maintenance costs (upstream VAT / deductible VAT) may be set against the VAT charged on rents (downstream VAT / collected VAT), with any excess of deductible VAT reimbursable by the French Treasury department. 

In regards to VAT, it is the principle that counts, regardless of whether the deductible VAT exceeds the collected VAT: this may therefore produce a “losing” situation for the Treasury (e.g. the acquisition of a building whose price is subject to VAT), even if this is rare in practice, relating to situations where capital gains cover long periods. 

This principle gives rise to 2 consequences:

  • For the lessor, it is always preferable for rent to be subject to VAT:

    • - this reduces the cost of charges and investments by 20% as the VAT on the purchase price can be deducted,
    • - in addition, in most cases, if VAT does not apply, CRL is applicable, which will also have a financial impact ( see hyperlink Rentals > VAT and CRL > CRL).
  • For the tenant, the answer depends on its own VAT status:

    • - either its activity is (fully) subject to VAT and there is no problem bearing the VAT charge on the rents (as the tenant can deduct it or claim a refund – there is thus no actual cost),
    • - or its activity is not (or not fully) subject to VAT and the application of VAT to the rents will mean an additional 20% on the rental charge (less if its activity is partially subject to VAT).

In this case and if the VAT option has been applied to the rental, (see hyperlink  Acquisition/Disposal > Real estate asset > VAT > Option to apply VAT ) , it may be worth further analysing the situation in order to compare the net cost of the two solutions (VAT / no VAT) for each party, with one (the tenant) bearing a surcharge on the rent, while the other (the lessor) cannot deduct VAT on the costs related to the building.

This analysis will permit an objective assessment of the best option for the parties with regard to the overall tax burden. It may subsequently be possible to reach an agreement on the level of the rent to allow both parties to share the overall tax savings resulting from the choice of whether or not to subject the rents to VAT.

This approach is of course only relevant if the option regarding the application of VAT to rents is available (as in the case of bare premises rented for use as business purposes).

It may be necessary to adopt (if the law so permits) a scalable solution: the VAT situation may evolve during the term of the lease. For example, it may be that the VAT is not applicable during the first period, while the rents subsequently become subject to VAT if major works, representing a significant VAT charge, are carried out by the owner. 

loupe

example

Office building, over 15 years old, rented to a tenant who cannot deduct VAT: 9-year lease, annual rent €700,000 net of tax (no indexation) 

Costs incurred by lessor: 

  • Acquisition of building in N: €10,000 net of tax; no VAT 
  • Various annual charges: €200,000 net of tax; €40,000 VAT 
  • Works in N+5: €2,500,000 net of tax; €500,000 VAT 

Calculation of tax cost (VAT / CRL): 

  ♦Option 1: rent subject to VAT 

  • Cost to owner = 0 (VAT is deductible) 
  • Cost to tenant = €1,260,000 (€700,000 X 20 % X 9 years) → VAT 
  • Total cost = €1,260,000 

  ♦Option 2: rent not subject to VAT 

  • Cost to owner = €860,000 (€40,000 X 9 years + €500,000) → VAT not deductible on annual charges and works 
  • Cost to tenant = €157,500 (€700,000 X 2.5 % X 9 years) →CRL 
  • Total cost = €1,017,500 

  ♦Option 3: rent subject to VAT only from N+5 

  • Cost to owner = €200,000 (€40,000 X 5 years) → VAT not deductible on annual charges from N to N+4 
  • Cost to tenant = €647,500 (€700,000 X 2.5 % X 5 years + €700,000 X 20 % X 4 years) → CRL from N to N+4 then VAT from N+5 to N+8 
  • Total cost = €847,500

 

Scope of application

Except where business premises are leased bare, the application of VAT depends on the objective situation; neither the owner nor the tenant have the right to opt for or against its application.  

VAT obligatory 

No VAT 

VAT optional 

Fully-fitted business premises

Residential premises (bare or furnished, without services)

Bare business premises

VAT option 

  • Minumum term: end of the 8th calendar year following that in which option is exercised 
  • Scope: entire real estate asset (i.e. bare part used for business purposes) 
  • Importance of formalities 
  • Effective date: 1st day of the month in which the option is exercised (following latest amendment in January 2014) 

Furnished residential premises + hotel-style services

 Bare plots 

Garages (whose rental is not closely linked to that of premises rented without VAT)

 

Bare premises used for business purposes

The rental of such premises is subject to VAT if the owner so chooses (Article 260, 2° of the FTC). This optional imposition of VAT on rents is an exception (the rule is VAT exemption), although in practice it affects a very large number of rented buildings. 


Conditions for exercising the option

Minimum period: the option may be cancelled by the owner as of 1 January of the ninth year following that in which it was exercised.

Scope: it must apply to an entire property (e.g. a building operating independently) within the limits of the bare premises contained that are being used for business purposes (e.g. apartments in the building concerned are not covered by the option).

Exemptions: if parts of the bare business premises are rented to persons who are not subject to VAT (see below), the VAT will – notwithstanding the option – only apply to the relevant rents if the tenant has expressly consented to this. Otherwise, notwithstanding the option exercised for the building, rents payable by such tenant will not be subject to VAT.

 

reminder // PERSONS NOT SUBJECT TO VAT

Persons not subject to VAT: these are persons not pursuing business activities, such as the state or certain not-for-profit organisations. They are not to be confused with persons pursuing a business activity that is expressly exempt from VAT, such as insurers or banks. These exempt taxable persons (within the scope of VAT) are thus different from non-liable persons (outside the scope of VAT).

 

Date of options: For rental activities, the option must be exercised no later than the end of the month in which the activity begins (Article 194 of Annexe II to the FTC ). In the event of the acquisition of a building that is already leased, the option must be exercised before the end of the month of acquisition (unless the regime under Article 257 bis of the FTC applies).

It can be exercised prior to acquisition.

Proof of option: This is essential, as the mere collecting of VAT on rents (even over several years and / or where VAT is refunded because the rents are subject to VAT) is no proof of the option (although this is the assumption).

In practice, it is necessary to exercise the option by means of registered letter with acknowledgment of receipt, retaining proof of notification of the option. This document will be particularly necessary if the property is later sold (see hyperlink  Acquisition/Disposal > Real estate asset > VAT > VAT settlements).

If the option is exercised later on, the building owner is at risk of losing part of the VAT charged on the price of the building through the application of the 1/20th rule ( Acquisition/Disposal > Real estate asset > VAT > VAT settlements). Exercising the option during the month following the beginning of the activity will thus entail the loss of at least 1/20th of the VAT charged on the acquisition of the building concerned (as the activity is not reasonably subject to VAT during part of a calendar year, namely the month in question, during which the building is not being used for an activity subject to VAT). 

Premises assigned to hotel-style activities

N.B.: rental of buildings for residential use, whether bare or furnished, is always exempt from VAT with no option available (Article 261 D, 4°, of the FTC).

Exception to this situation → rentals corresponding to a hotel or hotel-style activity (VAT obligatory: Article 261 D, 4° a. to d. of the FTC). 

This affects:

  • hotel and catering establishments;
  • holiday villages;
  • tourist residences and similar;
  • furnished rentals with services. 

In the latter case the application of VAT is conditional upon:

  • on the one hand, the dwellings being rented furnished to the end user; and

  • on the other, at least 3 of the 4 following services being offered with such rental:
    • - breakfast,
    • - reception,
    • - regular cleaning of the premises,
    • - supply of bed linen. 

These services may be:

  • at the discretion of the occupant (optional); and/or
  • outsourced to external providers, but they must be offered to the occupant by the operator (no direct contact is permitted between subcontractor and occupant).

 

reminder

These services must be provided under conditions similar to those existing in the hotel trade.

Where VAT is applicable to the provision of accommodation, the rate is typically 10% (the 5.5% rate is applicable in specific cases, e.g. retirement homes). 

It is the final use of accommodation that is taken into account in determining whether VAT applies. Thus if a real estate asset is owned by an owner-investor who leases it to an operator in the hotel or hotel-style trade, VAT will necessarily apply (i.e. there is no option), usually at a rate of 10%, to rents due to the owner by the operator (and of course to those received by the operator). 

This scheme is regularly used by non-professional landlords of furnished premises whereby investors, who are often (but not always) individuals, acquire new serviced accommodation for rental to an operator. One of the main benefits of this scheme is that, although the underlying asset is a residential building, the VAT applicable to the acquisition price can be deducted by the investor on account of the specific nature of its exploitation.

VAT base

VAT is normally based on the amount of the rent. The rebilling of rental charges can, in tax terms, be considered:

  • either as a complementary rental charge, with the amount calculated on the basis of the charges borne by the owner of the building,
  • or as rebilling by the owner of charges advanced on behalf of the tenant.

The second solution (the “disbursement” mechanism) is more common: in this case, the owner directly rebills the tenant the charges incurred on its account, i.e. rebilling an amount either gross or net of tax depending on whether the charge in question was gross or net of tax. In the case of gross rebilling the tenant may deduct the VAT charged by suppliers on the basis of the charges rebilled (the lessor itself makes no deductions). 

For this mechanism to apply, the conditions of 267, II. 2° of the FTC  must be met:

  • charges and rebilled charges must be booked by the lessor as third-party items, not as proceeds and charges;
  • rebilling must be on a euro-for-euro basis;
  • accounts must be rendered for these amounts;
  • the payment of charges must correspond to a mandate given to the lessor by the tenant (a lease is in particular regarded as such a mandate). 
ampoule 

The disbursement mechanism will not apply to charges that are by their nature due by the owner on its behalf and for its own account (e.g. land tax or the office tax in the Ile-de-France region: note that, as these charges are net of tax, rebilling will be inclusive of VAT under a lease subject to VAT).

The disbursement mechanism (involving, among others, rebilling inclusive of VAT) has the effect that the date of deduction of the relevant VAT by the tenant will be the date that the accounts are rendered. This may then result in the VAT charge having to be borne for a relatively long period.

Another option (to the first one mentioned above) is to consider rental charges as costs borne by the owner on its own account and to treat their rebilling as a complementary rental charge. In this case, provided the lease is subject to VAT, the owner may deduct VAT invoiced by service providers and will bill VAT on rents and charges to the tenant.

This solution has the advantage of simplicity and speed in terms of deduction, as the tenant may deduct the VAT in question as soon as it is charged.

On the other hand, it is of no interest if the rental is not subject to VAT (the owner cannot deduct VAT on charges) and it may even be disadvantageous for tenants who cannot fully recover the VAT (because their activity is not fully subject to VAT): thus the main drawback of this method is that charges originally exempt from VAT, or subject to VAT at a reduced rate, will be subject to VAT at the rate under ordinary law.
 

haut parleur1

focus // THE ISSUE OF RENTAL GUARANTEES

The rental guarantee is the agreement by which the vendor of a building guarantees the buyer a certain level of rent for a specified period calculated from the date of the sale. 

Following the sale, this guarantee will apply according to the rental situation of the building: 

  • if the building remains vacant, the vendor will pay the entire guarantee to the buyer; 
  • if the building is rented, the vendor will pay the buyer any difference between the amount of rent under the rental guarantee and the rent actually received by the buyer. 

The question arises as to whether VAT applies to such payments. 

From a legal point of view, it is reasonable to see this not as a form of rent (as the vendor receives no rent from the buyer), but as a reduction in price (as the sale is the only legal and economic exchange between the buyer and the seller). The rental guarantee should therefore reduce the VAT base that could be applied to the sale (see VAT). 

In practice, it is not uncommon for the buyer to want the rental guarantee to be deemed revenue for accounting purposes so that its investment can be regarded as generating proceeds and profitability as from its acquisition. In this case, the question is whether such revenue can and/or should be subject to VAT. There is no clear answer and it is resolved on a case-by-case basis.


This document and the information it contains are intended to provide as complete and accurate information as possible. It is however theoretical in nature and must undergo all necessary checking prior to its application. FiscalImmo and its authors cannot in any circumstances be held liable on the basis of this document.

TVA

TVA

PRINCIPE GÉNÉRAL EN MATIÈRE DE TVA

La TVA est un impôt indirect sur la consommation. Il a vocation à ne constituer un coût que pour le consommateur final et à rester neutre dans toute la chaîne de production d'un bien ou d'un service.

Pour assurer cette neutralité, la TVA supportée sur l'acquisition d'un bien ou d'un service est déductible par celui qui la paie dans la mesure où ce dernier affecte ce bien ou ce service à la réalisation d'une activité effectivement soumise à la TVA (i.e. utilisation pour générer un chiffre d'affaires soumis à la TVA) :
cf. article 271 du Code Général des Impôts (CGI).

Préambule

Du fait de son mode de fonctionnement, la TVA soulève une problématique particulière : malgré son coût apparent (20 % du loyer), le bailleur aura un intérêt pour son application (alors que pour le locataire, la TVA sera soit neutre, soit constituera un coût). L'enjeu (et le rapport de force entre bailleur et locataire) est d'autant plus stratégique pour les locations d'immeubles professionnels nus puisque la TVA s'applique alors sur option (cf. Acquisition / Cession > Immeuble > TVA ).

Ainsi, si un immeuble génère un chiffre d'affaires (CA) en TVA (en l'occurrence, parce qu'il est loué avec application de la TVA aux loyers), la TVA supportée par le propriétaire sur son acquisition, les travaux et son entretien (TVA d'amont/TVA déductible) sera imputable sur la TVA perçue sur les loyers (TVA d'aval/TVA collectée), l'éventuel excédent de TVA déductible pouvant être remboursé par le Trésor public.

En matière de TVA, c'est le principe qui compte, peu importe que la TVA déductible excède la TVA collectée; la situation peut donc être "perdante" pour le Trésor (par exemple, en cas d'acquisition d'un immeuble dont le prix est soumis à la TVA), même si ce cas est rare en pratique si l'appréciation porte sur une longue période. 

De ce principe découlent 2 conséquences 

  • Pour le bailleur, il est toujours préférable que le loyer soit soumis à la TVA :

  • puisque cela réduira le coût de ses charges et investissements de 20 % en raison du caractère déductible de la TVA ayant grevé leur prix d'acquisition.
  • en outre, dans la plupart des cas, si la TVA ne s'applique pas, la Contribution sur les Revenus Locatifs, CRL, devient applicable, ce qui a également un impact financier (Location > TVA et CRL > CRL). 
  • Pour le preneur, la réponse dépend de sa propre situation au regard de la TVA :

  • soit son activité y est soumise (et ce entièrement) et il n'a pas d'inconvénient à supporter de la TVA sur les loyers (puisqu'il peut lui-même la déduire ou en obtenir le remboursement – il ne s'agit donc pas d'un réel surcoût),
  • soit ce n'est pas le cas, son activité n'est pas soumise à TVA (ou ne l'est pas entièrement) - et l'application de la TVA aux loyers correspondra à un surcoût de 20 % de sa charge locative (surcoût moindre en cas d'activité partiellement soumise à la TVA).

Dans ce cas, et lorsque la TVA s'applique à la location sur option (cf. Acquisition/Cession > Immeuble > TVA > TVA applicable sur option), il peut être pertinent d'aller plus loin dans l'analyse chiffrée de la situation pour comparer le coût net des deux solutions (TVA ou non) pour chaque partie, l'un (le locataire) supportant une surcharge de loyer dans un cas, l'autre (le bailleur) ne pouvant déduire la TVA sur les coûts liés à l'immeuble dans l'autre cas.

Ce travail d'analyse permet de déterminer l'option objectivement la meilleure pour les parties au regard de la charge globale d'impôt. Par la suite, il est possible de chercher un accord économique sur le niveau de loyer permettant une répartition, entre les parties, de l'économie fiscale globale résultant du meilleur choix au regard de l'assujettissement ou non des loyers à la TVA.

Bien évidemment, une telle approche n'est pertinente que pour autant qu'il existe un choix quant à l'application ou non de la TVA aux loyers (hypothèse des immeubles professionnels loués nus).

Le cas échéant, il peut arriver (là encore si cela est juridiquement possible) de retenir une solution évolutive : ainsi, la situation du bail au regard de la TVA pourra évoluer pendant la durée de celui-ci. À titre d'exemple, il peut être envisagé que la TVA ne soit pas applicable durant une première période, puis que les loyers deviennent soumis à la TVA ultérieurement, en cas de travaux importants réalisés par le propriétaire, représentant une charge de TVA significative. 

picto loupe

Exemple

Immeuble de bureaux de plus de 15 ans loué à un locataire ne pouvant pas déduire la TVA : bail de 9 ans, loyer annuel de 700 K€ HT (sans indexation)

♦ Coûts supportés par le bailleur :
Acquisition de l'immeuble en N : 10.000 K€ HT ; pas de TVA
Frais annuels divers : 200 K€ HT ; 40 K€ de TVA
Travaux en N+5 :  2.500 K€ HT ; 500 K€ de TVA

♦ Détermination du coût fiscal (TVA / CRL) :

// Option 1 : le loyer est soumis à la TVA
Coût pour le propriétaire = 0 (TVA déductible)

Coût pour le preneur = 1.260 K€ (700 K€ X 20 % X 9 ans) →TVA
Coût total = 1.260 K€ 

// Option 2 : le loyer n'est pas soumis à la TVA
Coût pour le propriétaire = 860 K€ (40 K€ X 9 ans + 500 K€)  →TVA non-déductible sur frais annuels et travaux
Coût pour le preneur = 157,5 K€ (700 K€ X 2,5 % X 9 ans) → CRL
Coût total = 1.017,5 K€

// Option 3 : le loyer est soumis à la TVA à compter de N+5 seulement
Coût pour le propriétaire = 200 K€ (40 K€ X 5 ans) → TVA non-déductible sur frais annuels de N à N+4
Coût pour le preneur = 647,5 K€ (700 K€ X 2,5 % X 5 ans + 700 K€ X 20 % X 4 ans) → CRL de N à N+4 puis TVA de N+5 à N+8 
Coût total = 847,5 K€ 
Solution optimale (en particulier en cas de nouveau bail à compter de N + 9 avec un locataire récupérant la TVA)

(NB : Les calculs ont été simplifiés pour les besoins de l'exemple)

Locaux nus à usage professionnel

La location de ce type de locaux est soumise à la TVA sur option du propriétaire (article 260, 2° du CGI). Cette faculté d'assujettir ou non les loyers à la TVA est une exception (l'exonération de TVA étant la règle), même si en pratique elle concerne une grande partie des immeubles loués.

Conditions de l'option 

Période minimum :

  • L'option peut être dénoncée par le propriétaire à partir du 1er janvier de la 9ème année civile qui suit celle au cours de laquelle elle a été exercée.

Portée :

  • Elle concerne obligatoirement l'intégralité d'un immeuble (e.g. bâtiment fonctionnant de façon autonome) dans la limite des locaux nus professionnels qui y sont situés (e.g. les appartements situés dans l'immeuble concerné ne sont pas concernés par l'option).

Exception :

  • Si certains locaux nus à usage professionnel sont loués à des personnes non assujetties (cf. ci-après) et nonobstant l'option, la TVA ne s'appliquera aux loyers concernés que si le preuneur a donné expressement son accord. A défaut et nonobstant l'option exercée par l'immeuble, les loyers dus par ce peneur ne seront pas soumis à la TVA.

 

Personne non aSSujettie à la tva

Il s'agit de personnes ne réalisant pas d'activité économique telles que l'État ou certaines associations à but non lucratif. À ne pas confondre avec les personnes exerçant une activité économique expressément exonérée de TVA comme les assureurs, ou les établissements bancaires. Ces derniers sont des assujettis exonérés (dans le champ de la TVA) à distinguer des non assujettis (hors du champ de la TVA).

Date de l'option :

  • S'agissant d'une activité de location, l'option doit être réalisée au plus tard à la fin du mois du début d'activité (article 194 de l'annexe II au CGI).
    En cas d'acquisition d'un immeuble déjà loué, l'option doit être exercée avant la fin du mois de l'acquisition (sauf en cas d'application du régime de l'article 257 bis du CGI).
    Elle peut être réalisée antérieurement à l'acquisition.

Preuve de l'option :

  • Celle-ci est indispensable, le simple fait de collecter la TVA sur les loyers même pendant plusieurs années et / ou d'avoir obtenu des remboursements de TVA, du fait de cet assujettissement des loyers à la TVA, ne vaut pas preuve de l'option (même si cela reste une présomption). 
ampoule 

En pratique, il est nécessaire d'opter par lettre recommandée avec accusé de réception et de conserver la preuve de la réception de l'option. Cet élément sera notamment indispensable en cas de revente de l'immeuble (cf. Régularisation de TVA). 

En cas d'option tardive, le risque pour le propriétaire de l'immeuble consiste en la perte d'une partie de la TVA ayant grevé le prix de l'immeuble par application de la règle de régularisation par 20ème (cf. Acquisition/Cession > Immeuble > TVA > Régularisation de TVA). Ainsi, une option réalisée le mois suivant celle du début d'activité entraînerait a minima la perte d'1/20ème de la TVA ayant grevé l'acquisition de l'immeuble concerné (en raison d'une activité non valablement soumise à TVA pendant une fraction d'année civile, le mois en cause, pendant laquelle l'immeuble n'est pas utilisé pour une activité soumise à TVA).


Locaux affectés à une activité para-hôtelière

Rappel : la location d'immeubles à usage d'habitation, nus ou meublés est toujours exonérée de TVA sans faculté d'option (article 261 D, 4°, du CGI).

Exception à cette situation ð la location correspondant à une activité hôtelière ou para-hôtelière (TVA obligatoire ; article 261 D, 4° a. à d. du CGI).

Sont visées :

  • l'hôtellerie ;
  • les villages de vacances ;
  • les résidences de tourisme et assimilées ;
  • les locations meublées avec services.

Concernant ce dernier cas, l'application de la TVA est conditionnée : 

  • d'une part au fait que les logements soient loués meublés à l'utilisateur final ; et
  • d'autre part à ce que cette location s'accompagne de l'offre d'au moins 3 des 4 services suivants :
    • - petit déjeuner,
    • - accueil,
    • - nettoyage régulier des locaux,
    • - fourniture de linge de maison.

Ces services peuvent éventuellement être :

  • au choix de l'occupant (option) et/ou
  • sous-traités auprès de prestataires extérieurs, mais ils doivent être proposés à l'occupant par l'exploitant (pas de lien direct entre le sous-traitant et l'occupant). 

rappel

Ces services doivent être effectués dans des conditions similaires à la pratique hôtelière !

Quand la TVA est applicable à la fourniture de logement, son taux est généralement de 10 % (le taux de 5,5 % restant applicable dans des cas précis : maisons de retraite par exemple).

C'est l'exploitation finale des logements qui est prise en compte pour déterminer si la TVA s'applique ou non. Ainsi, si l'actif immobilier est détenu par un propriétaire-investisseur qui le loue à un exploitant hôtelier ou para-hôtelier, la TVA (généralement au taux de 10 %) s'applique obligatoirement (i.e. sans faculté d'option) aux loyers dus au propriétaire par l'exploitant (et bien sûr à ceux perçus par l'exploitant).

Ce schéma est régulièrement utilisé dans le cadre des opérations de loueurs en meublé non professionnels (LMNP), dans lesquelles les investisseurs, souvent des particuliers, mais pas toujours, acquièrent neuves des résidences-services pour les louer à un exploitant. L'un des intérêts principaux d'un tel schéma est que, bien que le sous-jacent soit un immeuble à usage d'habitation, la TVA afférente au prix d'acquisition sera déductible par l'investisseur, du fait du mode spécifique d'exploitation.
 

Assiette de la TVA

La TVA est normalement assise sur le montant des loyers.


Concernant la refacturation des charges locatives, elle peut être fiscalement considérée :

  • soit comme un complément de loyer, dont le montant est calculé en fonction des charges supportées par le propriétaire au titre de l'immeuble,
  • soit comme la refacturation par le propriétaire de charges avancées pour le compte du locataire.

La solution la plus courante est la seconde (mécanisme des "débours"). Dans cette hypothèse, le propriétaire refacture telles quelles au locataire les charges exposées pour son compte, soit une refacturation pour un montant TTC ou HT selon que la charge concernée était TTC ou HT. Pour les refacturations TTC, c'est le locataire qui pourra déduire la TVA (facturée par les fournisseurs), sur la base des redditions de charges (le bailleur ne procédant à aucune déduction à son niveau).

 Pour que ce mécanisme puisse s'appliquer, il convient de respecter les conditions prévues par l'article 267, II. 2° du CGI :

  • les charges et refacturations de charges doivent être comptabilisées par le bailleur en compte de tiers, et non en compte de produits et de charges ;
  • les refacturations doivent être effectuées à l'euro - l'euro ;
  • ces sommes doivent donner lieu à une reddition de compte ;
  • le paiement des charges doit correspondre à un mandat donné par le locataire au bailleur (il est notamment considéré que le bail constitue un tel mandat).
ampoule 

Le mécanisme des débours ne peut pas s'appliquer aux charges qui sont par nature dues par le propriétaire en son nom et pour son propre compte (e.g. taxe foncière ou taxe sur les bureaux en Ile-de-France ; ces charges étant HT, leur refacturation se fera TTC dans le cadre d'un bail soumis à la TVA).

Mécanisme des débours (impliquant notamment des refacturations TTC) : a pour effet de conditionner la date de la déduction de la TVA y afférente par le locataire, à la remise de la reddition de comptes. Selon les cas, il peut y avoir ainsi un portage de la TVA sur une durée relativement longue.

Une autre option (la première évoquée ci-avant) consiste à considérer les charges locatives comme des charges supportées par le propriétaire pour son propre compte et à traiter leur refacturation comme un complément de loyer. Dans cette hypothèse, et sous réserve que le bail soit soumis à la TVA, le propriétaire déduit la TVA facturée par les fournisseurs de services et facture de la TVA au locataire sur les loyers et charges.

Cette solution a pour avantage la simplicité et la rapidité en termes de déduction, le locataire pouvant déduire la TVA en cause dès qu'elle lui est facturée.

En revanche, elle ne présente pas d'intérêt si la location n'est pas soumise à TVA (le propriétaire ne pouvant déduire la TVA sur les charges) et elle peut être défavorable pour les locataires qui ne récupèrent pas intégralement la TVA (du fait de l'exercice d'une activité non totalement soumise à la TVA) : ainsi, cette méthode a pour principal inconvénient de soumettre à la TVA au taux de droit commun des charges qui, à l'origine, sont exonérées de TVA ou soumises à la TVA à un taux réduit. 

haut parleur1

quid des garanties locatives ?

La garantie locative est l'accord par lequel un vendeur d'immeuble garantit à l'acheteur un certain niveau de loyer, pendant une période déterminée courant à compter de la vente.

À la suite de la vente, cette garantie s'applique en fonction de la situation locative de l'immeuble :

  • en cas de vacance, le vendeur versera à l'acheteur la totalité de la garantie ;
  • en cas de location, le vendeur versera à l'acheteur l'éventuelle différence entre le montant de loyer prévu dans le cadre de la garantie locative et le loyer effectivement perçu par l'acheteur.

Traditionnellement la question de l'application ou non de la TVA à ces paiements se pose.
D'un point de vue juridique, il est raisonnable de considérer qu'il s'agit non pas d'un loyer (le vendeur ne bénéficie d'aucune prestation de location de la part de l'acheteur) mais d'une réduction de prix (la vente étant la seule opération juridique et économique intervenue entre l'acheteur et le vendeur). Dès lors, la garantie locative devrait réduire l'assiette de la TVA éventuellement appliquée à la vente (cf. TVA). 

En pratique, il n'est pas rare que l'acheteur souhaite que la garantie locative ait la nature comptable d'une recette afin que son investissement puisse être considéré comme générant un produit et une rentabilité dès son acquisition. Dans cette hypothèse, se pose la question de savoir si une telle recette peut et/ou doit être soumise à la TVA. Il n'existe pas de réponse évidente à cette question, qui se résout au cas par cas. 


Ce document et les informations qu'il contient sont destinés à fournir une information aussi précise et complète que possible. Cependant, celle-ci est par nature théorique et doit faire l'objet de toute vérification nécessaire avant application. La responsabilité de FiscalImmo et de ses auteurs ne pourrait en aucun cas être recherchée sur la base du présent document.